Can't exhaust also means can't protect?

Stuck in the middle of a game, ask your question here, probably someone will be able to help.
User avatar
Spass
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 7:44 pm

Can't exhaust also means can't protect?

Unread post by Spass » Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:09 pm

I have another question about one simple rule. Card says "Target ally can't attack or exhaust this turn." It also means that target ally can't protect?

User avatar
Cooler39140
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 6:46 pm

Re: Can't exhaust also means can't protect?

Unread post by Cooler39140 » Thu Oct 08, 2015 5:28 pm

I think that it's like that.
Just saying hi to WoW TCG.

Thalvin
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 6:53 am

Re: Can't exhaust also means can't protect?

Unread post by Thalvin » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:48 pm

Hey there!

You are correct! in order to protect, the protector has to be able to exhaust. The specific rule is as follows;

(From the Comprehensive Rules v. 7.4)
602.2 / As an attack window closes, if there is no attacker and/or no proposed defender, the combat concludes. Otherwise, any player opposed to the attacker may exhaust a character he controls that can protect the proposed defender against the attacker. This is called the Protect Point. This doesn't use the chain and is the only time a character can protect. If that happens, the proposed defender is removed from combat, and that exhausted character becomes the proposed defender and starts protecting.

Post Reply